Ohio Election Day Roundup: Results for National Elected Offices, State Offices, and Statewide Ballot Issues

After a long campaign season for the Ohio midterm election, voting numbers from county boards of elections are pouring in and being added to the unofficial results on the Ohio secretary of state’s website.

According to the Ohio secretary of state, results are unofficial until they have been reviewed and certified once the official canvass has been completed by November 29.

As of 10:00 p.m. on Election Day, the trending unofficial outcomes for national and state elected offices and statewide ballot issues are as follows.

Both legislatively referred constitutional amendments State Issues 1 and 2 were overwhelmingly supported by voters with 77.62 percent of voters supporting courts to consider factors like public safety when setting the amount of bail and 77.32 percent supporting prohibiting local government from allowing non-electors to vote.

The big-ticket race in Ohio for the U.S. Senate seat left open by retiring Senator Rob Portman (R-OH) shows Republican J.D. Vance edging his Democratic Tim Ryan (D-OH-13).

Republican Governor Mike DeWine has a 26.06 percent margin over his Democratic challenger, former Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley.

Republican candidates for the state supreme court all surged ahead of their Democrat challengers. Republican Sharon Kennedy maintained a 13.46 percent lead ahead of Democrat Jennifer Brunner, Republican Pat Fischer led by 15.14 percent against Democrat Terri Jamison. and Republican Pat DeWine advanced by 14.02 percent from Democratic candidate Marilyn Zayas.

Republican incumbent Frank LaRose maintained his strong voter support for the position of Ohio secretary of state, receiving 60.11 percent of the votes over Democrat Chelsea Clark with 38.90 percent and Independent Tore Maras with a mere .99 percent.

Current GOP Attorney General Dave Yost received 60.98 percent of voter support against Democrat candidate Jeff Crossman (D-OH-15).

Auditor of State incumbent Republican Keith Faber was also favored by voters, taking a 19.5 percent lead over Democratic candidate Taylor Sappington.

The position of treasurer of the state shows that it will stay in Republican control as incumbent Robert Sprague received 59.68 percent of the votes over Democrat Mayor of Marion Scott Schertzer.

In the Toledo area, longtime Democrat Representative Marcy Kaptur (D-OH-09) holds 79.36 percent of the vote over political newcomer Republican J.R. Majewski.

In the Akron-Canton area, longtime Ohio State Representative Emilia Sykes (D-Akron) holds a 10 percent lead over Trump-endorsed Republican Madison Gesiotto Gilbert.

In Cincinnati, Democratic Cincinnati City Councilman Greg Landsman shows a 63.45 percent lead over Republican U.S. Representative Steve Chabot (R-OH-01).

Ohioans can continue to check voteohio.gov for further election updates.

– – –

Hannah Poling is a lead reporter at The Ohio Star and The Star News Network. Follow Hannah on Twitter @HannahPoling1. Email tips to [email protected].




Related posts